Scriptwriting

Since I was a kid, I have been writing. A lot. No, thats not right.

Since I was a kid, I have been a storyteller. A good one.

I love to tell stories. Everything that I do has a different ending, at least in my head. If I were to go to the grocery store and come back, I would have fifty different stories, most of which involves my escaping a deadly assassination from a CIA hit squad involving sniper rifles and car bombs. I have a narrator in my head working out different ideas. Its always epic. But its always been difficult to put down on paper, and I have started many a project in vain. However, I have gotten better at it as I have grown older, to the ripe old age of 19.

I’ve written one full length screenplay, “Forgotten Man”, and have started on several others. Currently, I’m working on a romantic drama, called “Untitled”. Catchy, I know. I’m about 25 pages in, and I love it. I love nearly every piece of dialogue that I have written. But its hard. Its hard damn work writing a screenplay. What I’ve found about screenwriting can be boiled down to one, simple rule. I call it “Fifteen Pages”.

“If you can get past the first fifteen pages without checking your page count, then you can finish the story.”

Now, this doesn’t always ring true. I was about sixty pages in on a war disaster script when I abandoned it to the ethers. But that happens too. Sometimes, you get so damn frustrated with the dialogue and the characters that it just eats up your soul. So, every rule has an exception.

What I’m trying to say is that writing is hard, really hard. Storytelling is difficult, too, but in a different way. Storytelling takes wit and quickness, and intellect. Writing takes determination, grit, and confidence. Storytelling and Writing characteristics are not mutually exclusive. They are on the completely opposite sides of the spectrum. To bring them together is incredibly painful and requiers willpower outside the comprehension of the common man. But I love it. I love all of it.

Don’t give up, though. Thats not what I’m saying. If writing is what drives you, write until it kills you (or someone else does). The same goes for storytelling. Never give in to people saying its too hard (like me!) because its all bullshit. Don’t be afraid to chase your dreams, because thats the only thing we have unlimited time to chase.

What I’m saying is, good luck. And keep going.

Leave a Reply

