Futurama

Good news everyone! Futurama has been approved for two new seasons of 13 episodes each, meaning we are guaranteed at least 26 new episodes of Futurama after this current season ends. This is great news for me seeing as Futurama is my favorite show of all time. Now not everyone will agree with me, saying Family Guy or The Simpsons is better, but I can tell you this: there has never been an episode of Futurama that I did not like. I have heard a few people say the new season isn’t as good as the previous seasons. For me the new season has been awesome, I’ve loved every thing that’s been done with the new seasons, but I think I know the problem some fans are having with the new season. As I said before I’ve never seen an episode of Futurama that I did not like. Well with the new season you can pick out one or two episodes where you can say ‘that wasn’t good.’ Before every episode of Futurama was gold, but now we will be handed one or two episodes a season that aren’t up to par with the usual standards.  I blame the five-year gap between cancelation and revival for this, and I’m sure that it’ll go away after the writers get back into their groove. Personally I’ve still never seen a truly bad Futurama episode, but I will admit one or two of the current season were a tad subpar. Anyway…

Having the ability to go from drop dead hilarious to the saddest thing you’ve ever seen in your life (I’m looking at you Jurassic Bark A.K.A. the Fry’s dog episode), Futurama has some of the most memorable episodes in all of television. From the previously mentioned Jurassic Bark, to the new season’s The Last Phillip J. Fry Futurama never fails to deliver. I may be getting over excited here, but I would call Futurama the best written show on television. If that’s too much then we’ll just go with best written animated show on television. You can always count on the Futurama writers to be creative. And by creative I’m not just talking about creating amazing plots that are both hilarious and meaningful, I’m talking about doing things like creating a new mathematical equation or two separate alien languages.

The equation above was used in the episode ‘Prisoner of Benda’ to allow everyone to switch back to his or her appropriate bodies. To set it up, Professor Farnsworth created a mind-switching machine, however one you switch minds with someone you can never go back to your original body. This video explains it all.

[youtube http://youtu.be/8M4dUj7vZJc]

As for the alien languages, each episode of Futurama will have strange symbols on billboards, cups, buildings, etc. These are background jokes written in an alien language constructed by the creators of Futurama. Here they are:

Language one

Language two

The next logical topic to discuss would have to be the characters. The main characters are the Planet Express crew: Fry, Lela, Bender, Hermes, Amy, Zoidberg, and Professor Farnsworth. It’s hard to pick a favorite, because they are all so equally awesome. However my top three are Fry, bender, and Zoidberg. All Futurama fans know Zoidberg doesn’t get much screen time, but when he does, he’s the greatest character to ever grace television with his presence. Futurama’s side characters are every bit as awesome as it’s main cast. From the raunchy Zapp Brannigan to the timid Kiff Kroker to the ruler of Omicron Persei 8, Lur. The characters are quirky, lovable, memorable, and down right hilarious. I have yet to find a show with a better array of characters that so perfectly match the show.

Left to right: Lela, Bender, Fry, Amy, Zoidberg, Hermes.

Unfortunately I never got to enjoy Futurama during it’s initial run on FOX, instead I watched it’s syndicated run on Cartoon Network’s late night adult programing block Adult Swim.  This is where I fell in love with it.  Anyway for those who don’t know, Matt Groening (same guy who created The Simpsons) created Futurama and it aired on FOX from March 28th, 1999 to August 10th, 2003. Fox never cared for Futurama. It had problems with the suicide booths and other plot points, calling it ‘to dark.’ During it’s run FOX had a habit of not telling the producers if the show was renewed or not, giving Futurama an irregular production schedule, which would result in fans not knowing when new episodes would air. After it’s cancelation it ran on Adult Swim (as I’ve previously mentioned) until December 31st, 2007.  In 2007 it was revealed that Futurama would be coming back via four straight to DVD movies, and if the movies sold well enough it may come back as a series. Needless to say I bought all four of the DVD movies.

The six-month wait between movies was almost unbearable

Anyway after these four movies were released Futurama was soon approved for a new season of 26 episodes to be aired on Comedy Central. I for one am happy Futurama has found a good home at Comedy Central along Ugly Americans and South Park. If you have never watched Futurama, I strongly recommend it. You can watch it on Comedy Central or online at http://futurama-stream.com/.

Leave a Reply

