Oscars 2012! My Predictions

Ah. The Oscars. Isn’t it great? Some years it’s pretty exciting, depending on what gets nominated. I would argue there aren’t many mega-nominations this year (though Hugo and The Artist certainly seem the ones to beat), but that doesn’t make things any less exciting. It’s a fun time, so let’s do like everyone else and give some predictions as to the winners! I was lucky enough that my film department hosted quasi-legal screenings of many of the Best Picture nominees, so I’ve actually see many of the films I otherwise wouldn’t have until they showed up on Netflix.

Anyways, click through to the full page and we’ll start with the smaller categories (relatively) and make our way up. I’ll note I have not seen every film, so some of them I do not make predictions for and others my guess is based solely on how the Academy tends to vote. Be sure to comment with your own predictions! Otherwise, we’ll be sharing in the same collective excitement comes this Sunday at 8pm EST!

Best Visual Effects
Rise of the Planet of the Apes – Andy Serkis as Caesar. Enough said.

Best Film Editing
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

Best Costume Design
Jane Eyre – Period piece. Enough said (sadly).

Best Makeup
Albert Nobbs – I don’t know much about this category, but images of Glenn Close look great.

Best Cinematography
The Tree of Life – As much as I disliked this film, it’s absolutely beautiful. Only thing going for it. It deserves this.

Best Art Direction
Hugo – Basically, read my review linked in the Best Picture nominees section for everything I love so much about this film.

Best Sound Mixingsee my article!
Hugo

Best Sound Editing
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

Best Original Song – I don’t know these, so no comment!

Best Original Score
The Artist – He had to score a full silent film and he did so both beautifully and respectfully. Plus John Williams’ votes will be split between two nominations – always bad luck.

Best Animated Short Film – I don’t know these, so no comment!

Best Live Action Short Film – I don’t know these, so no comment!

Best Documentary (Short Subject) – I don’t know these, so no comment!

Best Documentary – I don’t know these, so no comment!

Best Foreign Language Film – I don’t know these, but I hear amazing things about A Separation (Iran), and it won the Golden Globe, so that’s the likely winner.

Best Animated Feature
Rango – I standby this as one of the only adult animated films, though it is child friendly. It’s just all around solid in terms of story, acting and animation. In a year where Pixar was completely skipped (the first year Pixar is skipped, actually), I think it will be nice to see something else win.

Best Writing, Adapted
Hugo

Best Writing, Original
Midnight in Paris – Check out my bit on this film in the Best Picture grouping, but the basics are that Woody Allen managed to successfully recreate the literary likeness of multiple authors and artists. It’s funny but also incredibly talented and amazing.

Best Supporting Actress
Bérénice Bejo – The Artist
Jessica Chastain – The Help
Melissa McCarthy – Bridesmaids
Janet McTeer – Albert Nobbs
Octavia Spencer – The Help – I have only seen The Help and The Artist, but Spencer was absolutely hilarious in The Help so based on what I can judge, she’s fantastic.

Best Supporting Actor – Haven’t seen enough of them, so no comment.
Kenneth Branagh – My Week with Marilyn
Jonah Hill – Moneyball
Nick Nolte – Warrior
Christopher Plummer – Beginners
Max von Sydow – Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

Best Actress – Viola Davis is great in The Help but I’d like to see the others before deciding. Mara is very intense in Dragon Tattoo, and as a Vassar student I’m obliged to support Meryl Streep, but…we’ll see.
Glenn Close – Albert Nobbs
Viola Davis – The Help
Rooney Mara – The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
Meryl Streep – The Iron Lady
Michelle Williams – My Week with Marilyn

Best Actor
Demián Bichir – A Better Life
George Clooney – The Descendants
Jean Dujardin – The Artist
Gary Oldman – Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy
Brad Pitt – Moneyball

Best Director – While this will probably go to Hazanavicius for The Artist, I truly feel that all of these directors deserve the award. Hazanavicius/Allen/Scorsese/Payne deserve it more than Malick, but all of them are superb filmmakers who are masters of their craft. It really just comes down to which film seems to be more the awards season favorite.
Woody Allen – Midnight in Paris
Michel Hazanavicius – The Artist
Terrence Malick – The Tree of Life
Alexander Payne – The Descendants
Martin Scorsese – Hugo

Best Picture – My favorite two films here are without a doubt Hugo and Midnight in Paris, and Hugo certainly has a change at winning. However, the Academy seems to love the homage influences of The Artist, so all signs point there. I’m fine with that, but I will say I will be infinitely happier if Hugo wins. Not only because it’s a great film but because winning would bring a lot of respect to the 3D format, which pretty much everyone agrees is the best way of seeing it.
The Artist – Review!
The Descendants
Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close
The Help
Hugo – Review!
Midnight in Paris – Review!
Moneyball
The Tree of Life – Review!
War Horse

Leave a Reply

