Looking Back at The Exorcist

I would argue one can safely label The Exorcist (the original, not the remake) as one of the scariest films of all time. I personally saw it for the first time this past March. Admittedly, it wasn’t scary, but I think that is more due to my viewing circumstances. While watching it, however, I could absolutely see the elements of horror it masters. The soundtrack alone sent tingles down my spine (I was lucky enough to be watching it in a surround sound theater setting). ArcLight Cinemas and Mission Control recently sat down with William Friedkin, director of The Exorcist, to talk about the film, his career, and his latest release Killer Joe. There are a lot of interesting, for better or worse, industry stories about what it’s like to work with Friedkin. All the same, no one can challenge his creativity and sense of horror. Check it out below!

Leave a Reply

